Expressing Enthusiasm in the Workplace

This is one of the more interesting patterns in the book. It’s a pattern that discusses the interpersonal relationships between the apprentice the masters or journeymen. I try to portray a lot of enthusiasm when it comes to the workplace. Currently, I work at a sub shop. It’s not my preferred job, but it’s a job, nonetheless. It’s different when comparing this pattern from a software development setting because I feel that I’ve exhausted everything I’ve been able to learn from this job. I try to develop some enthusiasm when it comes down to it though because it’s easier to go through a rush when everyone is in a better mood.


The same thing could be said when it’s time for me to work with a software development team, I can imagine. It’s easy to find people who don’t exactly feel enthusiastic because as the book mentions, they have been working at their job for way too long, they are caught up in many projects and deadlines, and they have no time to stick behind incompetence. After working a couple of jobs, I’ve seen this happen more then I could count, and it’s not a good feeling to conform to everyone else’s mood of dread and pain about a task or subject when feeling the complete opposite.


This pattern can be applied to almost anything in life. The young and incompetent apprentice who feels very enthusiastic about their job is once again shut down by their team. They might feel rather timid in trying to discuss or propose ideas to the team because they are afraid that the team will shut down their enthusiasm. When I’m going through this, I usually began to talk to people I feel that I can express my ideas very clearly too, who won’t attempt to shut them down, or who I feel won’t react negatively toward them. It’s easier to be told wrong by one person than by a bunch of people, and if it ends up being a good idea then I start by telling more people about it until I feel confident that it should be proposed at a more public level.

Sources:

Hoover, Dave H., and Adewale Oshineye. Apprenticeship Patterns: Guidance for the Aspiring Software Craftsman. O’Reilly, 2010.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started